Garden

IMG_0592.jpg

With the departure of the dreaded snow (which although exciting to begin with had certainly outstayed it’s welcome by last weekend and was a bloody nuisance by the time the rain washed it away a couple of days ago) it seemed timely to tidy up the garden a little, including shoring up a fence which is in the process of collapsing (hoping to keep it upright until we’ve decided whether to sell the house or not!).

We’ re in the process of clearing the house of my late Grandmother, who died a couple of months ago, and yesterday I took away a couple of items that particularly remind me of my Grandfather, who passed away about 17 years ago. A tailor and then a master bricklayer by trade, he would use up any spare cement from odd jobs at home by making a face (something my father is also in the habit of doing). I have no idea how old the one above (now nestling next to the door of my conservatory) is, but it’s a nice memory of a lovely man, as is the hand drill pictured below which I found in one of his sheds. The dark mark on the winding handle appears to be a burn mark. My Grandad was never to be seen without a Woodbine, and I suspect he scorched the handle with his ciggie while using the drill. I love the way the colours have come out in this picture, taken using my iPhone.

IMG_0597.jpg

While tidying up I also found the first snow-drop of the year!

IMG_0586.jpg

2 Responses to Garden

  1. Scrobs says:

    Fleets, you must keep those tools forever, then let the offspring have them. I’d never get rid of anything like that, but I might just give them to a special case if someone needed them I suppose.

    I love the cement face, just a great way to keep a memory alive, and also give a surprise to any kid lurking around in future years.

    Your post could have come from here, and I love it!

    (ps Mrs S only said today that we should search for the first snowdrop, and I’ve only just remembered to do this, and its dark now…)

  2. Old fashioned tools like this hark back to a time when craftsmanship was valued so much more than it is today.

    Your grandfather probably served an apprenticeship of several years to learn his skills. Nowadays it’s day release at the local technical college.

Leave a Reply

