Interesting Wheels

photo-3.jpg

Walking in Abingdon today I came across a couple of splendid MG sports cars parked in the town square. The one on the right is an MG RV8, the crude but charming reanimation of the MGB manufactured between 1992 and 1995. The one on the left is intriguing. It’s got the nose of an RV8 but has the fastback body of an MG BGT. I hadn’t been aware that the RV8 had been produced in a fastback shell, and a bit of searching on the web has failed to turn up any evidence that any were. I regret now that I didn’t take a look into the cockpit to confirm my suspicion that what we have here is an old MG BGT with the nose of an RV8 grafted onto it, for the RV8 had a rather luxurious interior which was very different from the rather austere original MGB. The license plate (V-reg; 1979-1980) would tend to support his theory, assuming it’s not a vanity plate.

Whatever it’s history, it’s a very handsome vehicle, as is it’s soft-top cousin parked alongside. Abingdon was the home of MG for many years, although the Abingdon plant had closed long before the RV8 was built.

4 Responses to Interesting Wheels

  1. Scrobs says:

    Very smart cars those…

    I have to confess that I had an MG Maestro for several years, and it was probably the best drive I’ve ever had!

    Sounds crazy admitting that now, but it never let me down, and had 185,000 miles on the clock when it eventually went to the great garage on high (Rootes in Maidstone actually…)!

  2. Fleet of Worlds says:

    My parents had a Montego which went on forever – terrible image but not bad cars, actually.

  3. bigrab says:

    As part of my mid-life crisis I have purchased a Mitsubishi L200 with leather seats and alloy wheels.

    The British car industry would never have arrived at the concept.

    Unfortunately.

    I did once have a Triumph Herald convertible.

    It was a LONG time ago!

  4. Fleet of Worlds says:

    I think an L200 is a splendid purchase, mid-life crisis or no. We were at the Newbury show today and walked around the car dealers stands (we are vaguely considering passing my Merc A150 onto Mrs F and getting rid of her Suzuki jeep thing).. I am quite keen on a VW Tiguan, but now that you remind me of the L200… hmm..

    A Triumph Herald convertible? Very cool.

Leave a Reply

