Great British Satire – The Daily Mash

mashlogo4.gif

It’s only recently that I’ve stumbled across the great satirical news site the Daily Mash, which is very funny and well worth a bookmark. It clearly owes something to the legendary US spoof news site the Onion, but has a uniquely British slant to it. The headline story today, about Gordon Brown and headlined “I warned of crisis ten years ago then did absolutely nothing about it”, is superb, and contains the following lines which made me laugh out loud –

“Now some people are saying that my bank bail outs aren’t working and if I’m not careful I’ll end up destroying our entire financial system and bankrupting the country. Well, Mr Brown added: “I’m not right in the head. I’ve been setting fire to stuff recently. Just small stuff. Books, furniture, cats.

“They keep giving me these little yellow pills, but I don’t think they’re working. If anything they make me even angrier and I just want to start bigger and bigger fires.

“I guess it’s only a matter of days now before I set fire to a car. Then it’ll be a church, a hospital, a row of quaint, terraced cottages. I’m just letting you know.”

Go and have a look – it’s great.

Leave a Reply

